Six months later

Almost all of the bloggers on youtube say that they started youtube then stopped and then picked it up again so I’m guessing that it’s okay I can try starting to blog again. They also normally designate days which they post so following their model, I think Tuesdays will work for me.

Eight months after graduation and I still live at home, still work at Barnes, and still don’t have a full time job. If you asked me back in March last year what I would be doing eight months after leaving JMU I would have said, living in DC with a fulltime job, member of a yoga studio, probably casually seeing someone, and being a produtive member of society.

Instead I just wrapped another unpaid internship, work at Barnes and Noble, live with my parents, and shockingly have a decent social life. This past week I made an effort to talk to almost all of my closest friends from college, and I realized that even though some of them are doing exactly what I thought I would be doing, they aren’t happy. They are stressing over more adult things than I am, clearly. I don’t even remember the last time I stepped inside a supermarket to buy groceries for myself.  But they kept talking about how great college is and how much they living and being at school. And as much as I miss school, especially my own apartment, I realized that while living at home, somehow life has treated me pretty well.

For one, I get to see my best friend in the entire world every week. I may not have a lot of friends at home but having my twin live 10 minutes away is really all I need. We do everything together and honestly the thought of moving away from her is scarier than I care to admit. So having her to go on dates with and be messes with and plan life has been a saving grace. Then I couldn’t ask for a better work family. Even though its retail and not what I want to be doing anymore, knowing I’m going to work with my friends makes it not so hard to go to work. They aren’t just my coworkers but seriously some of my best friends.

Living at home has been good because I have been able to spend time with my family that I haven’t had in awhile. I’m not home all the time, which is probably a good thing, but when I am I get to spend time with my baby sister playing games or watching movies which has been great.

And to round it out, I’m dating a boy who makes me smile in a way I haven’t in awhile. I finally took control of my dating life and decided to not settle for someone who wasn’t interested in becoming part of my life and oddly enough it worked. It’s exciting and scary and I can’t believe how much I actually forget about how dating works but it has been really nice.

Post grad has really been nothing like what I expected but I can’t really say that I’m upset about it.

Leave a Reply

