3.14.16

I am officially moving!!!!!!!!! Since I lived in DC in 2013, I knew that was where I wanted to be. All through senior year I knew that was where I wanted to live, to meet people, to start my own life. To my disappointment, I moved back home after graduation because of a lack of a prospective job. For about nine months now, I have applied to jobs, worked on my resume, talked to connections and still haven’t found anything. I have grown more attached to New Jersey, more attached to my lackluster part-time job, and sort of got comfortable in the thought of staying here rather than working towards moving. While everyone around me has been working toward their future, I have been trying to accept this mediocre life and make it into something that I would be happy in. I don’t know what made me realize that staying in New Jersey is not what I should be doing and that in order to do something with my life I just have to move but either way I have finally said enough, I have to move to DC. And after talking to my parents and hearing them say go for it, I am ready to actually do it. I put in my notice at Barnes and Noble and without a clue of how I am actually going to survive down there, I am now officially moving.

The thought of moving in three weeks is insane but I am so excited and nervous that it’s crazy. It feels amazing to have finally made a decision and to actually pursue it. I feel like since graduation I have been paralyzed by fear, not really making any decisions because they didn’t seem like they would work. And even though living at home hasn’t been bad and I have been making memories and friends which I never want to leave, it is time for me to start working towards being a graduate with a real job, real responsibilities, while still having an amazing time.

I think the best part of this has been the response of all my coworkers at Barnes. People keep coming up to me saying ‘YOU’RE MOVING’ and just being super supportive and excited to see me finally go and do what I’ve been talking about for such a long time. They are all so happy for me and it is that push that really makes me feel like I am making the right decision. I may fall flat on my face but at least I am trying.

Leave a Reply

